Double the fin, double the love.

One incredible little fish started this journey of betta fish and aquarium keeping that has truly changed my life.

I wasn’t always an aquarium enthusiast. There was a time I, like many other American children, bought fish from a *ahem* popular local super store on a whim, and half the time ended up returning them within the week refund date because they were already dead. Truthfully, I think I never gave it much thought, I was a child with many other mammalian pets that believed the common lies of the industry; how specifically betta fish (who get the very shortest end of the stick in the pet trade in my opinion) don’t live long anyway and can be cared for with very little time and effort. HA.

Over roughly five years or so, once I was in college and battling a slump of not fitting in, I would develop a deep passion for researching and learning and caring for betta fish. I would make mistakes, and I would have some success. But before I start into any of the specifics let me start at the heart: why I love betta fish so much. There a couple theories, such as; I was for the first time in my life, isolated from animals and craving their companionship but banned from having anything that breathed air in a dorm room BUT I like to say it was all to do with one incredible little fish. He wasn’t actually my first betta, but he was the first that I was able to care for well enough that we could have a long lasting relationship.

His name is Luxe. Not Lex, like Lex Luthor (a common misconception) not Lucks, not Lux, but luxe as in Deluxe. Yes, I am somewhat chagrined to admit, I have an affinity for strange names. I named my betta of nearly three years now, after what was written on the sign over the shelf I plucked him from. It said “Deluxe Betta” so yes, his full name is Deluxe, but I have only ever called him Luxe.

Coming to the title of this post, the sign over my future finned friend said “Deluxe” because he is a bi-colored, double tailed, half-moon male betta splenden. (Bonus: you get the title of the blog now right? Betta splenden is the name of the fish species, bettaSPLENDID cause they’re, well, splendid, okay I’ll stop) All of those descriptors are a fancy way of saying he was a male Siamese fighting fish (more on how that name came to be in the future) that had a navy blue/purplish body with orange in his fins. Instead of the usual single caudal fin, the fin at the end of the caudal peduncle (tail end of the fish), what split into two separate caudal fins; one of the many beautiful fin types betta fish can be bred with. His fins were also delicate, half-moon shapes making him overall, well gorgeous- if I do say so.

Luxe was the first double tailed betta I had ever seen in person. I didn’t give much thought then, to the notoriously tricky to keep perfect tail type. I was simply in awe at a slightly better “pet store” quality betta, over the previous bettas I had seen while getting groceries. He was the last left on the shelf and had a long, full tail (though it already had a small rip I didn’t see until later). I scooped him up and preceded to continue to make several small and large errors in keeping him.

However, as I said, nearly three years later he is doing much better in his newest tank, growing back a lot (we’ll get there later) and overall just still truck’in. He has allowed me to fall deeper and deeper in love with this amazing world of betta keeping and aquarium keeping and let me see first hand, in practice, all the knowledge I’ve spent the years acquiring.

I’ve adopted and helped many other bettas find homes along the way. I’ve taught fish tricks and made huge beginner mistakes. I’ve nearly crashed whole aquariums and seen fish grow and become happier and more beautiful than they were when they came.

Bottom line is this, I love betta fish, in every way, shape and form they come. I’ve been to fish shows, developed an interest in fish themed art, collected weird fish odds and ends and overall been obsessed with this hobby that has truly brought me so much happiness and purpose.

And all the stories and experiences I have, I only wish I’d known sooner. So here they are for you.

Fall in love with this hobby as I have- or hey, at least be mildly entertained by my strange and fun obsession. I want to weave the personal- the individual fish, the individual memories and experiences- with the knowledge gained and opinions formed. I want to spread awareness and information and appreciation, but I won’t lose the fun and the emotion of forming relationships with incredible, intelligent and beautiful pets.

Follow my journey down the rabbit hole of aquarium keeping and see how ended up falling backwards into this amazing hobby, what I’ve learned, and where we’ll go from here.

Love from me and Luxe.

(and thanks for sticking with me this long!)

Author: BettaSplendids

Just a person with a passion for what I would humbly consider the most wonderful and underrated fish in the aquarium keeping hobby; seeking to share information, stories and ideas!

Leave a Reply

